Trying to follow wiki and becoming more and more stuck

I have Asterisk installed on DD-WRT. I installed through entware, using (I think) opkg install askerisk

As I am trying to follow the wiki, I am finding things not right, or installed or whatever. The wiki seems way out of date, and when it refers to modules, it doesn’t say how to find or install them.

I am a newbie to Asterisk, and I have limited knowledge of linux.

Right now, I have set up 2 extensions. I don’t know if voice is travelling through yet.

I have seen the SayNumbers and SayPhonetic (etc) and that didn’t work, as I don’t know if I have it configured. I just had a not found.

I tried to connect through my cellphone while out and about, but had no connection.

All of these things are becoming a bit frustrating.

Right now, I am on the chapter about configuring voicemail boxes, but I am guessing that if I can’t make SayNumbers work, then I can’t get voicemail working, especially as it appears my install does not even have a voicemail.conf file.

Have I missed something during the install, that is limiting me?

Is there a reasonably up to date guide for newbies, that will take from zero knowledge to having a working system (including internal extensions, external lines, interactive menus, voicemail, SMS (would be useful)) suitable for an office environment? Are there any templated configurations anywhere that people have set up?

Is there any kind of front end somewhere that would make it easier than editting the conf files?

I don’t want to give this up (just yet).

Let’s unpack this for a moment. You are looking for a office PBX with various features, while Asterisk can provide most of that it can’t provide all of it. The main thing you have to keep in mind is that Asterisk is a toolkit. There are no default configs or setups. It can be used for a variety of services/solutions and being a PBX engine is one of its prime uses.