Can somebody give me a better understanding of asterisk?

I discovered asterisk a few months ago, bought the book asterisk for dummies and started to play around with it.

Well I just got out of jail, and am coming back at my programming hobby!

I’d say im an intermediate programmer. I specialize in PHP & MySQL. Just so you guys know what level im on…

I am very interested in asterisk, and my goal is to well of course first, get an understanding of how asterisk works and what it does, and to create a voip online application. I got a basic understanding of asterisk, what I want to to is create an application that will allow me to create a phone call through an online GUI, I will input the number to call, and I will be able to spoof the caller ID by entering a fake number. There will be a text area, the text will be read aloud to the person I call.

I looked around and I see there are already text-to-speech apps I can integrate into asterisk.

I just need a better understanding on where to start with this and in asterisk in general.

Im reading asterisk for dummies and do have a basic knowledge of it, however, it doesn’t cover much of the voip side of asterisk.

My first step was to install asterisk, which I have done. Now I dont know where to start.

I of course don’t want to jump right into this application, I need to do some basics first, you know like a ‘hello world’ script., meaning just doing a simple, basic task that asterisk is set up to do. Can anybody give me an suggestions on where to start from here, give me a simple thing to do?

Basically, I see three different layers to this:

1. VoIP service provider
  2. PBX Gateway (Asterisk)
  3. Front-end user interface

I have found a provider with low rates, les.net. But I need to know if I got this right.

To use voip, I need a provider with the correctly configured server with all of the hardware. Their server will handle the calls, and communicate back with my asterisk server?