Small office setup: hardware needs?

I’m quite new to Asterisk, and I’ve been looking around and reading the excellent documentation (and book!) for a time, but I have still no practical experience with Asterisk.

My needs are very simple. I just need a PBX to implement a IVR (Interactive Voice Response), to record the conversations and to log the calls to my small office.

I have just a POTS line and a couple of traditional analog phonesets. I’m used to GNU/Linux, so I’m not afraid of installing and configuring Asterisk, but I’m a bit lost about what HARDWARE do I need for my purpouse.

AFAIK I need a TDM400P with 1 XFO port and 2 XFS ports (TDM21B), but my budget is reduced and I wornder if there is a simpler possibility. I have an Ethernet network, is ATA an alternative? :question: Is the TDM400P PCI card the optimum choice? :question: Is there any better alternative, am I missing something? :question:

I’d appreciate any help on this. Thanks!

Hi,

I have been installing VoIP systems for a while…

Like you, I am quite comfortable with Linux…

The TDM400P is the absolute worst piece of hardware I have ever come across.

Fritz!Box are the best ATAs I have come across, but they are not cheap (although they’re only about 1/3 the price of a TDM400).

I don’t know how a Fritz will interface to Asterisk, though, as I have yet to get an Asterisk system working reliably…

Fritzes log calls received by default, have a baby PBX (call transfer, conference calling etc) but no IVR or built-in voicemail.

After 4 weeks of investigating Asterisk for a client, I am not able to recommend it.

If you really need IVR tread carefully. Asterisk isn’t really there (yet) as a production system and the Digium cards are not worth their scrap value.

• David

Hi,

Thanks for your point of view, but I’m decided to implement the IVR service too, and to use Asterisk and a GNU/Linux box to do this task, because I’d like to give Asterisk a chance and to learn it.