Sending SMS Voicemail Notifications

Hi

I wonder if anybody would be able to advise me on sending SMS messages to mobile phones?

I have two methods in mind:-

1 HTTP requests sent to internetcalls.com (preferable)
2 SMTP messages sent to clickatell.com

I would like to receive an SMS message on my mobile phone when I have a voicemail. I am guessing that if this is at all possible the easiest way would be to fire an e-mail to clickatell.com, although I haven’t worked out how yet. But I’d be very interested to see if I can send an HTTP request to internetcalls.com as it would be slightly cheaper and I already use this company for all outgoing telephone calls with great success.

Any comments from people that have experience in this field would be gratefully appreciated.

I’m not too technically minded though!!!

If it is important, I am running Asterisk 1.2.18 on Mac OS 10.3 Server.

Many thanks.

Chrisp

Chris -

We offer email2SMS and http2SMS functionality at 6cents a message and it’s easy to use. Example, emailing yournumber@group2call.com will result in an SMS straight to your phone. Clickatell is slightly cheaper but they’re not that reliable here in the US because of all the shortcode governing.

Anyway, our prices and features are on our site: www.group2call.com. Oh, and our system runs compleltely on Asterisk.

Thanks.

I’m using this:

[macro-send_sms_message]
exten=>s,1,NoOp(${ARG1})
exten=>s,n,System(/usr/bin/curl -s "http://localhost/sms/sms.php?number=${ARG1}&msg=At%20${ARG3}%20${ARG2}%20called.")

exten=>1205,hint,ZAP/1
exten=>1205,1,Dial(Zap/1,45,r)
exten=>1205,n,Macro(send_sms_message,003248736552,${CALLERID(num)},${TIMESTAMP})
exten=>1205,n,GotoIf($[${DIALSTATUS} = BUSY]?busy)
exten=>1205,n,VoiceMail(u${EXTEN}@default)
exten=>1205,n,Hangup()
exten=>1205,n(busy),VoiceMail(b${EXTEN}@default)
exten=>1205,n,Hangup()

Thank you henkoegema,