Remote Configuration?

Hi,

I have browsed through the sticky above and read through some of the various articles. I have not noticed, is there a way to configure an asterisk server remotely?

I thought it would be nice to have a GUI that allows users to build dialplans visually.

Thank you,

Lee

take a look at FreePBX.

But FreePBX runs on the asterisk server. I was curious if there was an additional API that allowed a remote client application to edit .conf files, etc.

I am a developer and I a bit embarassed to say that I’ve been trying to get a simple assterisk server running with a sip softphone since Sunday and I still haven’t been completely successful. Much of the blame is just me because I don’t have linux experience for one thing (I am Windows developer) and I am new to asterisk, but I also think that there is a bit of inconsistency in documentation available or that documentation assumes (unknown foundation eg. linux skills, etc) a certain level of knowledge.

That’s ok. Asterisk is complex because it’s so functional. No problem learning as best I can from web tutorials, message boards, etc. I also have a couple of books on order.

My hope was that there was an API that also allowed configuration from a remote client. It would have been nice to be able to write a nice friendly Windows GUI that allowed visual dialplan creation, etc (once I know what Im doing of course).

I also see potential in integrated asterisk with our existing point of sale application, specifically drive-thru and delivery operations. Writing a nice GUI that could be extended later on for that integration would have been nice too.

Lee

I’m obviously not getting what you’re asking for. Yes, FreePBX runs on the asterisk server, but the client can be anywhere, as long as they have a web browser, they can edit the asterisk config, set up things, etc… ???

Hi,