Mitel phone compatability

I have see a few topics relating to Mitel handsets. I was wondering if any one had experience migrating/server changover from a complete Mitel system and just replacing the server with an Asterisk based solution but keeping all the Mitel handsets. If so did it work and what problems arose? (if any)

Appreciate any feedback.

I am trying this at the moment on a dev platform, 5330’s -> * server, but due to mitel cracking down on F/W distribution to non partners/ resellers i am having some seriously late nights trying to work around this, plus i am a bit of a newbie with this stuff. If i get hold of the correct SIP F/W for the 5330’s i am quite sure i can get it working and if/ when i do i will let you know.

Thanks Mark,

I thought someone would say something like that.

The system in concern is a Mitel 2006 model, which supports a maximum of 700 clients (SIP), and the system is currently running up to 650 mark. As far as I am aware this Proprietary system has little scope for expansion and is not feature rich.

But listen to this: The current owners started out with this system as a trial, they then decided to keep going with it as it seem to do what they wanted, the average cost of each device with licence and mailbox licence has set back around £200 per client.

I don’t need to tell you that’s around £130,000 of kit, or over there in the states 205,952.50 USD. That may turn out to be useless unless they again upgrade to a new Mitel system with upgraded licences so addtional costs after the purchase of the server. ouch. not bad for a not for profit organisation.

Let me know how you get on.

Thanks.

I am not expert just a beginner, I found this on another forum it may be some use or may not be, I believe its for v.6.
If your familer with editing the sip.conf file then this example I found on another forum.

Sip.conf example:

[mitel5220]
type=friend
username=mitel5220
secret=1234
host=dynamic
canreinvite=no
qualify=no
context=local