Incoming Callers not redirected to Digital Receptionist

Hi-

I’m a newbie to Asterisk, and in the process of setting up a working system. I’m kind of stuck with a problem regarding the Digital Receptionist, and I was hoping someone on this list might be able to shed some light on whats going on.

So basically, I have the SIP phones/extensions and outbound trunks configured (I’m using Telasip trunks for outbound), and I am able to make and receive calls from my SIP phones to external cell phones. I have a ‘front desk’ extension configured to be 1998, and I have another two phones with extension 1901 and 1902 for my end users.

I have a main DiD number through Telasip (lets call it 408-123-4567), and when that number is called, I want the following to happen:

1. Phone rings three times at extension 1998 (front desk)
  2. If no one answers the phone, then the digital receptionist takes over and presents the caller with a menu (“dial *411 for the company directory”)
  3. If the caller does not enter any extension, then the call goes to voicemail for extension 1998

This seems like a pretty straightforward setup, and I have seen many examples of this on the 'net, but unfortunately none of them work for me. Regardless of what I do, an external caller who dials my DiD (408-123-4567) goes through step 1, then straight to step 3 - completely skipping step 2. In other words, the digital receptionist is never called upon to present the menu.

I have gone through the basic sanity checks:
A. When I dial 7777 from an internal extension (1901), I get the digital receptionist and am presented with the option to dial the company directory.
B. When I go to Amp -> Setup -> Incoming Calls and select ‘Extension 1901’ (or any extension, incl. 1998) instead of ‘Digital Receptionist’, callers from outside to the DiD are sent directly to the extension, and once again, steps 1 and 3 are executed in succession.