[Help/Advice] VOIP -> Linux Server Softphone

Hi all,

Just a preface that I’m a programmer that’s out of my depth working with phone systems.

I’m looking to create an application that’s essentially a softphone with no client (UI) - I want to be able to use a VOIP phone to make a call to my linux server, and have my application accept the call and I then maintain a 2 way audio stream with that call. For example, I should be able to record the audio from the call or I should be able to broadcast audio to the call in realtime.

I’ve seen that * and other services do implement features for call recording etc. for this, I really need to be acting as a call endpoint rather than a middleman.

Sorry if this seems vague… I’ve tried researching this for a few days but I think it’s one of those problems that I need to know the right words to search for!

Is this something that seems possible? If so, can I get some information on the required setup or at least a recommendation on where to look?

Thank you!

What do you mean with “a softphone with no client (UI)” ?

A softphone that works through the cli has a UI, because the cli is the user interface…

Lets assume you mean that you are working on a softphone without a graphical user interface, you could take a look at the pjsua (PJ sip user agent). This works fine as a cli sip client.

Think you should google “asterisk soundcard”, eventhough you dont use a soudcard, think that will guide you in the right direction…

Or you could give more information on what you want to happen functional, then a lot of pp on the forum could provide you with more information.

I think he means a SIP user agent with no associated human computer interface.

Yes, could be… But then you could use the pjsua with autoanswer… I think…

Hi thanks for your replies.