Asterisk server replication, please help!

I need to migrate my Asterisk dialplan, voicemail messages, and sound files (I have some custom ones) from my current Asterisk box to a new server. I can’t find instructions for how to do this anywhere. Reconfiguring the dial-plan won’t be very difficult if I have to do it manually (via copy and paste) but I have no idea how to migrate the messages and greetings from one computer to another while keeping all the relationships intact. (i.e. moving extension 302’s recordings and messages from the current box to the newly-created one.)

Does anyone know where I can find documentation describing how to make this type of transition? I’m using FreePBX on Asterisk 1.2.10. Thanks!

Hey there,

I’ve never used FREEPBX before, but I do that kind of thing all the time, and what I end up doing it just backing up the etc/asterisk, /var/lib/asterisk/sounds and /var/spool/asterisk/voicemail directories.

I personally use SCP to copy them over to the new box after TARing them up, but writing them to CD/DVD would be just as effective if they are an appropriate size.

If your linux foo is not very large yet, do the following:

1. Get to a console. (Not sure how in FreePBX, but Im sure its possible)
  2. Log in as root, or some other power user with rights to those directories
  3. Type ‘tar -zcvf etcasterisk.tgz /etc/asterisk’
  4. Type ‘tar -zcvf sounds.tgz /var/lib/asterisk/sounds’
  5. Type 'tar -zcvf voicemails.tgz /var/spool/asterisk/voicemail

This will create you 3 files that you can download with your information that you need. You can then log in with FTP (if a FTP daemon is running) or use SCP (‘scp etcasterisk.tgz root@NEW_BOX_IP:/tmp’) to copy the files over.

This is just one way to do it. Kind of seems like a pain in the butt, however once you get the hang of it it goes by really quickly.

Hope this helps !