Analog phone speed dial not working

Hello guys,

I’m new to Asterisk and the forum.
A bit of background:
My name is Eric and I live in the Netherlands. I’ve had a previous setup of Asterisk on a Raspberry Pi with a Linksys SPA device which was working well with the exception of a lot of echo. I’ve now switched to a dedicated PC with an Openvox A400P card with an FXO and FXS module.

I am facing two issues,

1. My Dect phone is connected to the FXS port and my PSTN line to the FXO port (obviously). When I take the phone off the hook and dial a public number I get connected, but when I enter the number on the phone and then take it of the hook (it starts dialling the number automatically), I can’t get connected.I get some sort of busy tone. I have a feeling that the number is dialled to quickly by the phone (using dtmf).

2. A few seconds after I put the phone on the hook my phone is automatically taken off-hook and shows ‘Channel 2’ in the display. A few seconds later it puts the phone on the hook and all is normal. I’m using a simple/cheap Dect phone of which the base station is connected to the FXS port of the A400P

Does anybody have any ideas about either issues? If more information is needed, please let me know.

Thanks in advance and best regards,
Eric

1. Asterisk provides extensive tracing and debugging output to allow you to work out what is happening.

2. This sounds like an issue with the phone, as there is no standard method for signalling the event over an analogue line.

[quote=“david55”]1) Asterisk provides extensive tracing and debugging output to allow you to work out what is happening.

1. This sounds like an issue with the phone, as there is no standard method for signalling the event over an analogue line.[/quote]