Wikipedia Access through the telephone

Hi dear Asterisk-Community,

heres what i want:

1. i dial my home number from somewhere in the world
  2. asterisk should tell the phoner he should press 1 to phone me or 2 to get an wikipedia article
  3. i press 2
  4. asterisk says “Wikipedia Article selected, please tell me the word you want to know more about”
  5. me (the phoner) says astersik (or something else)
  6. asterisk reads out the chapters from the article and wants the user to dial the number for the chapter (for example 2 for chapter 2, 0 for all chapters)
  7. asterisk reads out the article

Are there already addons for this task?
Do you know how to solve my problem?
What do u think about my idea?

Sorry 4 my bad english
alex aka bleetack

This is possible using a voice recoginition such as Sphinx (opensource) and writing an AGI to fetch the Wikipedia text from the web using CURL or some such library.

im new to the opensource-“scene” :wink:
what does AGI mean?
is sphinx an addon to asterisk or do i need to code a lot to integrate it?
what does curl do?

(i know, google is a smart friend, but u r 2 :wink:

in my eyes the biggest problem is the data communication between asterisk and a voice recoginiting system.

I dont exactly now how asterisk/sphinx works, but i think asterisk should have to stream the data to sphinx.
Is there already such a function integrated in asterisk?

(if u have a lot of time, so please tell me my errors in my english,
i would like to improve :wink:

AGI = Asterisk Gateway Interface - one of the methods used for integrating external applications with Asterisk.

curl is an application similar to wget which can be used to retrieve data from a URI (ftp or web server, typically).

Sphinx I have no further info on :wink:

Google and the Wiki will become your friend:

voip-info.org/wiki-Asterisk

without sounding flippant, it appears to be quite easy.