VCS System with Asterix?

Hello,

I’m new to Asterix. I will be grateful if you help me. We are planning to develop a real time Voice Communication System for an Air Traffic Controller Simulator and we are looking for a skillful Voip api or library. We will have different positions and all the positions will have a touchscreen VCS monitor. A position can call other positions that are listed on the touchscreen and also a position can make push to talk radio communication by the help of the VCS system. Headsets and a handset will be used in positions. Is Asterix suitable for this purpose? I read a bit about the documentation and I understand that Asterix is used for telephony applications. Does it use only an ip telephone or can we get inputs from headsets, microphone, etc? Can I use Asterix for a VCS system like this?

Also I read a bit about the Asterix SCF project. I think SCF project is more suitable for my application but unfortunately it is in early development stage.

Thank you
Yücel

Hi,

Can you please brief your project details what you want to do ? So I can guide you how you can integrate the asterisk with your system.

Ketan

Hi Ketan,

Thank you for your response. In this project, we have different positions all of them are connected via local network. All the positions have a touchscreen Vcs monitor. Two types of communications are possible in the system. Radio communication and phone communication.

Phone communication: Other positions are listed in the Vcs panel. A person can call one position by touching the address button of that position. This is like typical phone connection. Holding, forwarding, picking up, conference, etc. should be possible.
Radio communication: A list of radio frequencies are listed on the Vcs panel. These frequencies are symbolic numbers. They are assigned to push buttons. When a position push a frequency button, he can speak to all the positions those have that same frequency.