Asterisk as SIP client (ie softphone) to Cisco CUCM?

Hi,

I would like to use Asterix to do voice recognition. Is that possible?
Also, can Asterix be connected to CUCM as a SIP client?

Basically what I’m trying to accomplish is to replace my Cisco IP Phone with a SIP client that can do voice recognition. I’d like to run Asterix from a linux server that could dial out over CUCM and also do voice recognition since it would be communicating with an IVR system. My application would send username and receive a token back from the IVR system.

Is any of this even possible or am I totally out in left field? I’m pretty new to this and am in exploratory mode at the moment.

Thank you

Yes. It’s called IVR. You cam search IVR topics to learn how to implement it.

I’m a newbie on Asterisk myself, but IVR is mentioned in nearly every overview and intro article/video for Asterisk.

IVR is not (normally) voice recognition. Asterisk can do voice recognition, but needs a third party recognition engine.

Asterisk can act as a SIP client to CUCM (originate CUCM calls) and as a a SIP server to CUCM (accept calls from CUCM). I’ve personally only done this with CUCM configured with Asterisk as a trunk, but I believe CUCM also supports SIP phones. SIP doesn’t really have distinct trunk and extension concepts.

Hmmm. Okay, maybe my terminology is wrong. However, from this link it does appear to be an optional standard module, unless I’m reading it wrong?

https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/AST/Speech+Recognition+API

connects through the API to speech recognition software, that is not included in the module

I have sucessfully used https://cloud.google.com/speech-to-text/ with Asterisk, results are very decents

1 Like

Thanks for all your replies. It sounds like what I’m trying to do is possible from what I’ve read so far.