Using Asterisk with an FTTH Triple Play Connection

HI there,

I am new to telephony and my question could sound very stupid to you some of you. I apologize in advance if this is not something I should be asking. Now that’s out in the public, let me explain my scenario and what kind of help am I looking for.

I am planning to install an Asterisk as a home PBX and planning to use IP phones in my home. Currently my phone services is offered via an FTTH triple play service from my ISP where I get internet, tv, and telephony in a one fiber optic that comes to the ISP provided ONU and then segregates services in that. The ONU has a POTS port which the regular telephone currently connects and one ethernet port provides the connection to the STB and the remaining ethernet ports are available for internet. I have another 4G LTE internet connection in my home and at the moment internet service from both these connections connecting to a load balanced router before being sent to a switch for wired devices and access points for wireless devices.

As the ISP provided ONU in the triple play connection is a good for nothing cheap device, I cannot utilize many of the features I need in terms of network services with that like port forwarding, vpn, etc. So I was planning to get a media converter and connect the fiber optic directly in to that and then have the load balanced router split services as needed. I can see all the vlan configuration in the ISP’s ONU and I hope I can replicate those configurations in to the load balanced router. But then my question is, as the voice vlan in the ISP’s ONU is currently sent to a POTS port in the ONU, is there any possibility to have to voice vlan connect to the Asterisk box via ethernet if I manage to replicate and then use IP phones to connect to Asterisk and use for voice?