New to Asterisk, my plan advise required

Hi all. I have been wanting to dip my toe into VOIP and specifically asterisk for quite a while now, and am eventually going to take the plunge. I am a web developer with a fair bit of knowledge of linux, and playing round with configs, compiling installing and configuring applications, etc. My VOIP knowledge is pretty limited, understand basic principles, and SIP, etc. FXO/FXS etc confused me, but believe I know what it is now, an FXO port allows u to connect to a PSTN line, and FXS allows u to connect standard phone/fax to the PBX.

I would like to state how I plan to set this up, and have comments on what I plan to do. Also some questions (from what I’ve read and seen I’m hoping that most will be a yes!) I don’t want to really get into the configuration, etc of Asterisk at this point, just give a general/hardware overview of what I plan!

I would be running a SIP Asterisk server on probably an Ubuntu server platform at home (although could remote host on the net later at some point), possibly VM machine whilst I play and setup, and eventually a stand alone PC. I would like to terminate my land line (PSTN line UK based BTW), to the PBX, but the line is not near the PC, but I have ethernet near by, and would REALLY like to not use a PCI card, but rather a device that allows me to connect PSTN to the ethernet, and connect that as a trunk on asterisk. I have been looking around and the SPA-3102 (Lynksys), could do this for me, and provide an additional FXS port (I current have a draytek router with two FXS ports). Is this the best piece of kit to allow me to connect the PSTN to the PC over ethernet without a PCI card, etc?