Understanding Basic Concepts

Hi, I’m new to Asterisk and am trying to get handle on the overall picture of VOIP. I’ve been reading FAQ’s on several sites and am getting confused with all the information available.

I understand the concept of VOIP providers and Asterisk working together. But what I’m getting confused about is Asterisk + Verizon. Here’s my situation.

My parents house is wired with traditional phone line and their telephone provider is Verizon. What I want to do is keep Verizon and run Asterisk with it. My understanding is that I need hardware to convert the analog signal to digital so that Asterisk can work with it. So I’m assuming it works like this:

Inbound Call ----> Verizon —> Parents House ----> ATA -----> Asterisk Box

(Can someone confirm this?)

Now here’s where I’m confused, what about outbound calls? When my parents lift up their traditional wireless phone, does the call go out through Verizon? Or does that require special hardware as well?

I understand they do not need Verizon at all, but they do not want to switch.

That’s basically what I’m confused about. Is there a tutorial on how to integrate Asterisk into traditional phone lines? Are there any limitations to using “Ma Bell” with Asterisk? Is there tutorial to help me with the actual wiring? Or is there any wiring involved?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

-Matt

P.S. I know I asked a lot of questions (and I have more), but I’m trying to understand this whole thing and hope those questions can be answered.

I set my system up in a similar way to this. We are in the UK and use Virgin Media telephone and cable broadband services.

Here is what I did:

Telephone line --> Linksys SPA3000 --> Asterisk Box --> Broadband

DECT Phone