Super newbie question

Hello. Absolute newbie here.
I have a small company which wish to record their incoming calls and redirect them to proper employee.
I have a Landline and a GSM number ( SIM card ).
I have installed FreePBX which is having Asterisk inside, yet i am failing to understand what hardware i need to connect the Landline and the GSM number to the PC I have installed.
Thank You and advance guys !

In most of the developed world, copper pairs are being replaced by VoIP based services.

In most of the world GSM is no longer used for mobile phones

For the landline, you should investigate porting the number to VoIP and also look to see if your provider is moving to VoIP, and if so, whether they will give you the login details.

The second option, for copper pairs is an FXO SIP gateway device.

For the mobile, you would want a SIP to mobile air interface device. Whilst this might be described as GSM, you should ensure that it actually does 4 and 5G and the frequency bands used locally.

Sangoma do PCI cards for direct connection to analogue lines, but they may be too expensive for your purposes. There is a driver for HuaWei ā€œGSMā€ dongles, but it is not supported by anyone.

Note that you will not be able to receive DTMF over mobile phone networks.

1 Like

Wellā€¦ I am sorry for my not correct using of the terminology.
So - generally my landline operator shall provide me with VoIP device to which I shall connect the Asterisk based computer trough the network ?

No. Typically the landline operator provides you with a VoIP phone,or analogue telephone adaptor, and then replaces the analogue connection with a VoIP one. If they are prepared to provide you with the technical details, you can replace the VoIP phone or the ATA with a SIP based PABX.

1 Like

To be honest this is beyond my current knowledge.
So - basically as i understand - once i register for VoIP they will provide me some sort of user name and password ?