[SOLVED] Struggling with Multicast Paging

I am not sure what I am doing wrong here. The setup is the latest freepbx with Paging Pro and Digium D60 handsets with the latest firmware.

I have tried creating a custom extension in asterisk config files with exten => 1234,1,Page(MulticastRTP/basic/225.1.1.100:10000)
, tried the Paging Pro module with a multicast address, etc. Nothing seems to get my Digium D60 handsets to pickup and play the multicast page. I attached a laptop with a multicast listener and wireshark on the same subnet, and can capture the packets from a page initiated from a handset on the laptop, but cannot get the handsets to actually pickup. It seems the RTP channels are using the ulaw codec when a page is initiated. Does this only work on Digium handsets with the Switchvox distro, or am I maybe doing something else wrong? Thanks!

Howdy,

I have no knowledge of the operation of Paging Pro.

The Digium phone does not automatically setup Multicast listeners on it. The listeners have to be setup manually. Further, the listeners can only be setup by using DPMA to set them or by using XML provisioning to set them.

If it’s DPMA, then you’ll have to create multicastpage types and apply those types to the phone. See - https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/DIGIUM/DPMA+Configuration#DPMAConfiguration-MulticastpageConfigurationOptions

If it’s XML, then you’ll have to create a multicastpage parent and create listener children. See - https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=36800183#XMLConfiguration2.2.1.1+-MulticastpageElement

This capability was added in firmware 2.1.0.3.1 for D6x models of phones; small bugs were addressed up until 2.2.0.8.
For DPMA, it was added in 3.1, but small bugs were addressed up until 3.2.2.

For Multicast playback, the G.711 ulaw, G.711 alaw and G.722 codecs are supported.

1 Like