SIP with Asterisk

Hey,

Can anyone help how to install Asterisk( for windows ) and work with it to do the following.

1. register with SIP acc
    2.outgoing call
  2. terminate the call.

How do I get SIP acc? I’m total newbie to this s/w, so any help would be great!

Thanks

You should start reading “the future of telephony” You can download it for free. See: asteriskdocs.org/

Try to be more specific with your questions and people will put an effort in helping you out.

I agree that the sort of question you are currently asking should be answered by reading the book. However, be warned that very few, if any, serious installations use Windows, so don’t expect to get much help on Windows specific problems.

Actually I was not even aware of what generally VoIP meant, when I was asked to do the project. As days went by I learnt about VoIp.

My project involves the following:

A person should be able to make a call and once he’s finished terminate the call.

Just for example, lets say that he/she has an skype acc( username and password) and he/she wishes to call another person to his/her mobile/work number or to different account.

How do I do this with Asterisk? Do I need to write any scripts for it? If, YES it would be nice to point me in right direction.

Hope I was clear this time

Thanks!

The book is the right direction.

Oh Thanks, I’m reading the book.

I being a developer got to do this in my system which runs on Windows 2000 NT and give it to my client.

I have a question to ask.

I already have a GnuWin32 compiler running with gcc -4.1.2. So will the 3 below packages be fair enough for me to start working with Asterisk.

Main Asterisk program( asterisk )
Zapata telephony drivers ( zaptel )
PRI libraries ( libpri )

and run the script to work as I expect.

Thanks much!