[SEEKING ADVISE] Getting started

I just heard about asterisk from a friend and is pretty interested in it, so I tried to do some research on. However, maybe I’m relatively new to this field, after hours of google/wiki/glossary queries… I’m still not sure if I really understand what’s asterisk about, so I’ve decided to ask my questions here.

1. Traditional Telephony
    I noticed that most articles for asterisk is about VoIP. However, I’m currently using a traditional phone line (actually it’s a “digital phone” but I guess it won’t make any difference: http://www.shaw.ca/en-ca/ProductsServices/DigitalPhone/HowItWorks.htm) as my primary phone line. So, I’m wondering what asterisk can/cannot do with that. Can I implement features like caller log/speed dial/conference/answering machine with a traditional phone line? What else? And what are the limitations? Also, (in addition to my old fashion, traditional phones) can I answer/dial calls from my networked computers without additional hardware? (i.e. making ‘software’ call) How about fax?

2. VoIP
    In addition to my traditional phone line, I also subscribed to a HK based VoIP service (which is, I can dial/pick up calls from HK as if I’m in HK here in canada). It currently works by connecting a VoIP box provided by the service provider to my router (and to a traditional phone on the other end). Could I replace that box with an asterisk server? If yes, what’s the benefit/what ‘extra features’ could I get from that? If not, can I connect that line to the server as if it was a traditional line (via the ‘box’)?

3. Multiple lines