Please help on where to begin - short time line

I’ve been reading up on Asterisk for the last few days, and well, I’m as confused as ever! I guess its because I’ve never worked with CTIs before, but that’s the direction I want to take our company (i think!)

I’m not really sure where to begin? What program - the asterisk, or maybe switchvox? What type of connection will I need and what costs am I looking at (recommendations appreciated!) - I’ve got multiple options right now…we’ve got a T1, a PRI, and at my home I’ve got high speed DSL, so which should I go with? Do I need to get SIP trunk lines installed? Is there a way I can provide my own SIP lines? Is there a way to bypass a VoIP provider to connect to the PSTN, or do I have to use someone like vonage or another VoIP provider? How much bandwidth will I need for good quality service?

I guess with the number of questions I have, maybe I should describe what we are looking to do.

We have a small telephone answering service. Right now, we’re taking about 70,000 minutes worth of calls a month, and our customers continue to ask for more and more time. We’re at the breaking point right now where we have to decide to purchase more licenses @ a couple grand a piece(bah!!!) for more seats, or developing our own PBX (asterisk) to route our more basic calls specific extensions that would act as an expansion to our current call center software platform.

Enter ASTERISK! I am very talented at developing web based interfaces that correlate to mysql databases, so I figure if I can route the calls accordingly with the Asterisk PBX to the appropriate computer on our network…I can custom design accounts according to customers needs. So rather than pay close to $30k to expand our current system for more seats, I’m under the impression that ASTERISK may provide us with a feasible solution.

Here’s what I’m looking to do: