Kinda Stuck! Please Help!

I am new to Asterisk. I have just issued the make command in the Dahdi-Linux-Current and I get this.

make -C /lib/modules/4.18.0-193.14.2.el8_2.x86_64/build KBUILD_EXTMOD=/usr/src/dahdi-linux-complete-3.1.0+3.1.0/linux/drivers/dahdi DAHDI_INCLUDE=/usr/src/dahdi-linux-complete-3.1.0+3.1.0/linux/include DAHDI_MODULES_EXTRA=" " HOTPLUG_FIRMWARE=yes modules DAHDI_BUILD_ALL=m
make[2]: Entering directory ‘/usr/src/kernels/4.18.0-193.14.2.el8_2.x86_64’
Makefile:978: *** “Cannot generate ORC metadata for CONFIG_UNWINDER_ORC=y, please install libelf-dev, libelf-devel or elfutils-libelf-devel”. Stop.

What do I need to do? Or where would I get those files?

Thank You,
Dave

Using apt or yum, depending on your Linux distribution.

There may be an install prerequisites script, which will do this for you.

Thank you for the comeback. How is the script used? I am new to linux. I have been an Asterisk fan for about 7 years now. I have been using the GUIs ( FreePBX, Elastix ) but I want to educate myself on how all this works using Asterisk from source code. I have installed Centos 8.2 on an older server for learning purposes and downloaded the software from Asterisk.org. When I loaded Centos on the machine I chose every package it offered except the visualization part. What did I miss? Is the Centos package incomplete? Is there a better flavor of Linux that will have everything I need for Asterisk?

Thanks again,
Dave

david551,

I found the script. I ran ./install_prereq Install. Many apps were loaded successfully. I ran ./install_prereq install-unpackaged and I got this on screen:

[root@localhost scripts]# ./install_prereq install-unpackaged
*** Installing NBS (Network Broadcast Sound) ***
A nbs-trunk/Makefile
A nbs-trunk/nbscat8k
A nbs-trunk/xmms-nbs-1.2.10.patch
A nbs-trunk/xmms-nbs-orig.patch
A nbs-trunk/LICENSE
A nbs-trunk/nbsclient.c
A nbs-trunk/nbsd.c
A nbs-trunk/nbs.h
A nbs-trunk/nbscat.c
Checked out revision 15.