Inbound DID

I have a T-1 line that has about 100 DID numbers asociated with it. I would like to have asterisk get the digits from the phone company and display the number and an associated name with that number so that the operator know to pickup the phone and answer with the correct company name. It would be best if it could be displayed on the PC that the operator is sitting at.

Thanks
JR

i’ve done similar things using a MySQL table and an AGI script, that then feeds a string out to a listener app such as YAC - sunflowerhead.com/software/yac/ to create a popup and optionally, a link to a webpage. there are plenty of other apps out there that can do some or all of what you want.

it’s not difficult to achieve, but if you’re a complete newbie to this and have a deadline, you might be best asking for commercial help.

this might be useful too : voip-info.org/wiki/view/Aste … tification

How many companies are you talking about?
If it is only a few, you could just setup incoming routes for ech did and manually set the caller ID to what you want…

If there are quite a few, then one of the other solutions would work better…

That is the information I needed and it will work to have it pop up on a computer. I was also wondering if there was a way to have it send that information to a caller ID box setup as an extension.

Thanks

sure, it just needs to be dialled with every incoming call. although you’ll have to figure out what happens if you have 2 or more simultaneous incoming calls ringing. if it’s for record-keeping or someone else to watch, it would be much easier using CDR or similar.