How to Rebuild Raid 1 in asterisk

Hi guys,

I am new to esterisk. i just employed some one to come setup a PBX for me and i decided that i was going to backup one of the RAID1 drives just to be safe encase some thing went corrupt or what ever. But vertty unluckily while doing so i fed it up and ended up copying a blank hdd over my asterisk HDD,

So im very glad i went with RAID. So my my problem is when i gointo the intel raid manager it says The divice will be rebuild in the OS>

now i googled and i found instructions about how you mean to rebuild it in WINDOWS?

PLs pls can some one help me try fix this stuff up.

and also maybe tell me how i can create a propper backup of asterisk without stuffing anythign up?

Tell me the name/version or your controller. I should be able to help you.

Depending on the controller you may have trouble rebuilding just depends.

Worst case you could create a new mirror and then take your old (your current) drive and clone it to the mirror then you’d be back in biz.

You can use Clonezilla for this. It is great for disk to disk or disk to image. Use the live CD version it is idiot proof.

If you go the clonezilla route it is easy. you would take your existing drive out and set it asside (maybe run backup from webmin or something to be safe first. webmin can be installed with gives you a web interface to the entire system. I put it on every install. it is invaluable.)

Next take your two new drives and connect them up to the SATA controller. boot up and when you see the prompt press ctrl-i or the function key or whatever gets you into your raid management software. Build the mirror and initialize it.