How does Asterisk connect to the telephone network?

Hi,

I’m a newbie to VoIP and Asterisk. I would like to know a few basic things in general.

1. Is Asterisk or AsteriskNow the open source PBX software? I’m going to assume it’s called Asterisk.

2. How does Asterisk connect to a telephone network? How does the computer with Asterisk installed interface with the rest of the world to make phone calls?

I’m doing a project related to defending against spam call/robo call. Most of these have faked caller ids. So I would like to look in to how that works.

1. How is caller id communicated between systems? How is caller id conveyed in the telephone network? What features does Asterisk provide related to caller id? Can it be modified?

2. I heard two things: a) Telephone protocols have changed over the years b) Nowadays, most calls go through IP to save costs.
    So, what protocols are used nowadays? Is SS7 still used for PSTN and SIP for VoIP? How have they changed?
    And do most calls get routed through IP? How are calls transferred in general nowadays between two entities?

Thank you in advance. I’d appreciate any help I can get to understand this.

Regards,
Clive

1. Asterisk is the application. AsteriskNOW is a complete Linux distro with Asterisk/DAHDI/FreePBX preinstalled. They’re both open source, I believe.

2. Asterisk can connect to a standard PSTN through DAHDI-compatible hardware cards that can be installed in the server for PRI or POTS lines, or you can use an external device, such as a Digium appliance to connect to the PSTN’s lines.
    Caller IDs can be faked in a number of ways. Many TelCos will default the caller ID name, but allow you to manipulate the caller ID number from your business. Others will accept whatever you send.