Hello Im working on AsteriskNOW for senior design

Hello fellas

My name is Joe. I’m a senior at Michigan Tech University and I’m majoring in Computer Networking and Systems Administration. I’m working on AsteriskNOW for my senior design project.

I’m sure over the next few months I’m going to be asking you guys for lots of help. but i actually have a few questions now

I just installed asteriskNOW on virtualPC, here goes

1. when i start the server i keep getting this error “lost some interrupts at 1024mhz” any idea what that is or how to fix it?

2. i got the GUI up and running. right now here is my network setup

DSLmodem(realip address)–>router—>windows—>virutalPC(withastrisk)

right, now my virtualpc is set to use my windows network card so i can communicate with the outside world. Currently if i want to go to my asteriskNOW administration web page, first i have to remotedesktop into my windows box then go to 10.10.1.20 to view the asteriskNOW admin page.

what i want to do is figure out what port it runs on, then punch that through my router with port forwarding so that i can access my admin page from anywhere. So basically, what port does asteriskNOW work on?

1. I’m going to be using some phones that require H263 how does asteriskNOW GUI handle that

2. where is the main dialplan.config file that used to be in the old asterisk distro, I.E. what part of the GUI configures the dialplan

thanks guys

Welcome! Hopefully Asterisk will make a good project…

1. no idea about lost interrupts.

2. unless it runs on a funny port, it should be port 80. Many routers can do port forwarding to a different port, so you could forward say port 39139 to port 80 so it doesn’t show up in a port scan as open.

3. Not sure about the GUI. I’ve never used the GUI.

4. generally all the config files are in /etc/asterisk/. Dialplan is extensions.conf, channels are sip/zapata/iax.conf and others, etc.