Creating a small Cisco VOIP System - Need some help please

Hi All,

I am looking into creating a small VOIP only system (no PSTN lines whatsoever), using around 2-4 Cisco 7960G SiP IP Phones on an Asterisk/Elastix Platform. Later on down the track I may want to add in 2 wifi extensions for the building but not at this stage. I am new to all of this stuff and could use some help in setting up this small basic system.

My main confusion is with the hardware required. I am under the impression that all I need (besides phones, voip provider, server PC and internet access) is a multi-port 10/100 ethernet switch, to which I can plug all my extensions, internet connection, computers etc into. Is this the case or do I need something more? If I am correct, do I need to do any configuring to get the system to recognise which extension is plugged into which port, and which ports simply hook up to other computers/router, etc?

The second thought I would like to get some info on how compatible I can make the Cisco’s. I use them all the time at work, however they are on a SCCP config with Cisco-only hardware. Obviously things won’t be the same on opensource SiP, but I’m wondering if Call hold/park features could be configured the same (IE you press hold/resume on the Cisco Softkeys and it holds/resumes the call on that phone only, you press the park softkey and it automatically parks the call on a free park line, and shows on the display for a few seconds what park line it was taken to - rather than having to actually dial it into a park line manually), and also if I could set up a paging extension (dial a number and be able to put out a PA message over the speaker of all idle phones) Those are the only functions I would like to keep identical to Cisco’s SCCP protocol.

Anyway, after all of this, I think my main setup questions would be answered, the rest should be pretty self-explanitory. Any help would be appreciated! :smiley: Thanks everyone!

Nic.