Call Recording Issues from Inbound Route

I am new to Asterisk so I confess my understanding of this product may be at fault.
I installed elastix and upgraded FreePBX so now I am really just using the FreePBX to configure things now. (Seperate Issue)
Asterisk Info reports 1.8.12.0

My objective
I am setting up a demo test system for our company we need to route DIDs to a group of agents with call recording that agents can turn off or be turn off automatically by application.

My Setup
Each DID has an Inbound route which routes calls to a specific queue, each queue has static agents of ring groups.
Each Agent has a Ring Group of their own because they may have deskphone and/or softphone

My Issue
Call recording is not working the way I expect or consistant to what I have read.

I want to record the call immediately from Inbound Route (To capture annoucement and hold time) and also allowing the agent to halt recording by *1 for PCI-DSS reasons.

Setting Inbound Route to Record Immediately dosen’t seem to capture call recording although setting Inbound route to Record On answer or allow does.

In both case the call is not shown as recorded in the CDR reports but has a file in the spool directory.

The log file indicates that a file is generated and being recorded. (The call log generates 1000’s of entries)

When I change the source of recording to agent so it appears in the CDR Report I have observed that the call is not controlled by *1 although it is executing in the dialplan.

Also when the caller (Outside party) dials *1 it also appears to execute the dialplan command which I don’t want.
I would like to know how to correct
Call recording Inbound route Record Immediate
How to toogle call recording with recording automatically starting immediately
Stop outside party turning recording off
Making *1 Work on inbound route recording (if possible)

I know *1 internally on setup works as I have had it record part of call when source recording set to agent