Call distortion, clicks, pops, squeaks. Any ideas? UK/Telew

Hi everybody.

I’m a fairly recent noob to the world of * but have had an * server up and running in my office for the last 3 or 4 months. In a testiment to my general lazyness, it has taken this long for me to seek help on an issue that plagues everyone!!

We frequently seem to have incoming audio distortion on the lines served by *. I have three cheap, single channel FXO cards in my server which is run over NFS root and network boot. I didn’t really know the score when I purchased the FXO cards of eBay and they show up as “Wildcard FXO: Generic Clone” so this could be the root of my problems.

I’m in the UK and connecting to Telewest land lines.

I have uploaded a small WAV file that I managed to record via voicemail (which puts the whole SIP transport out of the loop - we use SIP to connect to a hardware phone and several (different) soft phones which all experience the distortion). It’s only small at around 150kb.

You can grab the file here: colin.guthr.ie/asterisk_distortion.wav

It only seems to happen on incomming channels and the outgoing speach doesn’t seem to be affected in the same way.

Here is my zaptel.conf:

loadzone=uk
defaultzone=uk
fxsks=1-3

And here is my zapata.conf:

[channels]
language=en
signalling=fxs_ks
context=incomming
switchtype=euroisdn
rxwink=300
usecallerid=yes
restrictcid=no
usecallingpres=yes
callwaitingcallerid=yes
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes
cancallforward=yes
callreturn=yes
echocancel=yes
echocancelwhenbridged=yes
rxgain=0.0
txgain=0.0
group=1
callgroup=1
pickupgroup=1
immediate=no
callerid=asreceived

channel => 1,3

; Default context does not answer...
context=default

PS I have tried Kewlstart and Loopstart but both seem to be the same. I also cannot detect remote hangup but that is another issue :smile:

Thanks for any advice, it’s much appreciated.

Col.