AsteriskNOW - Key Issues Raise Serious Doubts

Ok, I have been reading the posts here about AsteriskNOW and have observed the unfortunate disconnect between the newbies (like me) and the pros who are trying to be helpful. The two major issues with AsteriskNOW are the adding of a VOIP provider and determining the root password. I started writing this as an attempt to shed some light on these two issues but the more I thought about the situation the more it quickly descended into a rant. I will still offer it up to the masses for their review and comment.

#1. Adding a Service Provider:
Yes, it appears that with AsteriskNOW beta (as of this writing) you cannot add a VOIP service provider via the GUI. Let’s face it, this is a problem, not a bug. As I personally do not have a FXO/S card, I have no knowledge of whether or not you can configure Digium “products” via the GUI. If you can, then one cannot overlook the fact that Digium’s $$ come from selling hardware which – oh, look – can be configured with the GUI. This is the kind of nonsense that (correctly) drives FOSS people nuts, and developers away from projects. But don’t get me wrong, I’ve long thought that Digium was nuts for giving Asterisk away. So maybe this is just the first step away from the GPL and toward Digium’s bottom line. That said however, if AsteriskNOW is supposed to continue down the open source road then I feel slighted by this. If this is supposed to be a tiered offering then Digium should come out and say so.

#2. Root Password: