Asterisk, Grandstream and X-lite

Hello,

I have a quick question - Unfortunately i’m very new to Asterisk! I’m using a Asterisk call manager and Grandstream phones. I’ve recently been asked to look at setting up softphones for staff members to work at home. The softphone and the hard phone work fine when testing using my extension number, however I do have a small problem. Basically when i log into my extension using x-lite softphone, my hardphone doesn’t work. In order to get the hardphone to re-register I have to manually reboot it to get it going. Is there any way that I can set it up in asterisk or on the phone to stop this? Basically i just want to have essentially two phones (1 hard 1 soft) connected to the same extension number. And if any calls come in to ring on both at the same time.

Thanks, your help is very much appreciated.

James.

You are confusing device names (sometimes called equipment numbers) with extensions.

You need to have different entries in sip.conf for the two phones, then you can dial them both by doing:

exten => 1234,1,Dial(SIP/entry1&SIP/entry2)

Thanks David,

Right, so the current entry in Sip.conf for my Grandstream phone is for extension 123 - And the current entry in sip.conf looks like this;

[123]
type=peer
context=outgoing
secret=123
host=dynamic
call-limit=20
dtmfmode=rfc2833
username=123
disallow=all
allow=ulaw
progressinband=no
canreinvite=yes
callerid=“James Walker”<123>
subscribecontext=BLF_Group_1
mailbox=123@rbrlvm

Do I need to create another entry with another number (eg 124) for the softphone? and then add it to extensions.conf?

You need to add another entry, which may not be an extension number at all, and then, in extensions.conf, change:

exten -> 123,n,Dial(sip/123)

to

exten -> 123,n,Dial(sip/123&sip/124)

although, as I said, the 123 and 124 in sip.conf need not look like extension numbers at all.

Yes you do.
Then you could call as David wrote to you.