Total Newb, has some Basic Questions

Hello Everybody, just a quick explanation:

My Linux / IT Experience:

Basic Linux Knowledge, Comfortable enough with a command line. Know enough to find most solutions either in man pages or online. Good Basis of Networking, etc.

My Situation:

My wife works at a medical office: (Small maybe 17 station PBX, 4 Analog phone lines) and they are fed up with their Phone System/Phone Tech. Just to clarify, I haven’t been by the office yet to see the exact configuration, but I will this weekend probably and just would like a little more basic knowledge to help me assess the need.

What I am fairly certain of:

The Phones are all IP-Based. (Meaning Ethernet instead of rj45)
They have 4 Analog Phone Lines they lease from the local Telco (all ringing in on the same Phone #)

My Questions:

First as to the type of setup for the incoming lines and Asterisk.

-What are system recommendations for a system this size that will also allow growth? (Dual Core? 4GB Ram? High End)

-With the incoming lines, If I understand the routing correctly I need FXO ports for the copper coming into the building. I am looking at PCI cards to do the trick as I would initially like to attempt a low cost solution to be sure it would address all of their needs. I see some 8x FXO cards and wonder if it’s better to overshoot the mark and plan for growth, or if it would be painless to start with a 4x and easily add another 4x as the need arose. So the questions concerning this part are as follows:

1. Are PCI based Cards the best route, or are external ones like the Sipura a better route, and why? (Reliability? no CPU Drain?)

-Output Routing: With the incoming lines as FXO’s and the Phones being IP-Based. I am -guessing- that the output routing would be an ethernet port. For 17 Stations, and 4 incoming lines, is 1 regular 10basedT Nic Card going to be sufficient? 1)How many Lines/Extensions are usually recommended per NIC Card?