Requesting Advice on Asterisk Project Plan

Hello,

I am new to asterisk and I want to replace an old AT&T Partner phone system with an asterisk system.

The old system is over 30 years old, and the voicemail crashed a month or so ago. I believe that it’s just a matter of time before other components of the system begin to fail and I want to get a jump start on upgrading the system. I was told about asterisk as a good option, and I have been reading about its features, system requirements, and installation procedures.

I wanted to get some expert advice on the conversion. I think I have a couple options. I could try to replace the whole system from start to finish, or I could begin by replacing just the voicemail portion and then expand to the rest of the system. As a non-expert, I think it is probably better to go all out and replace the whole system rather than trying to integrate different systems together. The effort to get both to play nice together might not be worth it. Please let me know if you agree.

My plan is to obtain a box, based on the system requirements detailed in the documentation, using Ubuntu, download the software, build it, then get the appropriate cards and ip phones to work with the new system. Of course, I would have to replace the old wires with those that are compatible with the system.

So, does my newbie approach sound sensible or should I be viewing this project differently? It would also help if you could advise on the best, inexpensive equipment to support the system.

I basically need a system that would support 3 telephone lines, 13 phones, voicemail, intercom, and conferencing.

I hope that I didn’t sound too ignorant in my comments, and I thank you for whatever information that you can supply.

Depending on what type of interface the voicemail module has to the rest of the phone system, what you’ll need to buy to replace the voicemail system will be the same as what you’ll need to replace the whole system (apart from the phones).