Some newbie advice plz

Hello dear forum members,

i’m rather new to asterisk and telephony in general. I have to do quite a large project, which will be involving asterisk. Maybe a small introduction would be nice…

I work for a company with several call-centers. At the moment we use “commercial” solutions for our outbound calling. Expensive pbx soft\hardware and a really expensive predictive dialer (1500 euro’s a seat!). Cause we’ve got about 200 seats, we’d rather not pay 1500*200 (as u might imagine). Anyway, we’ve been looking around to replace our stuff and found asterisk, which we think is AWESOME! Anyway, cause i’m rather new to all this stuff (don’t work here that long) and i’m going to roll out this project, i really am in need for some information! So, if anybody has some answers to my questions that would be great!

Ok, the following is what i have in mind for this project (questions in there as well) : And excuse my english here and there, not a native speaker…

We’ve got several call centers, as mentioned. We’d like to connect all of them to one fat pbx system, or several interconnected pbx systems. At the moment we have analog old skool phones. Would it be wise to continue using those, or is it better to use voip internal with regular phone lines to the outside? What is the advantage of using voip inside against analog (except for the wiring)? And, if we’d use analog lines, do i need a digital E1 card for the outside world and an analog card in my pbx? Or can i also use voip with my analog phones, by hooking those up to a analog card that u can buy at digium? Some hardware advice would be highly appreciated. Cause, as mentioned before, i’m not a phone hardware master (yet;)).