Redirect PSTN call to Voip Provider

Hi Guys,

I am new to asterisk and I am trying to redirect calls from PSTN to a VoIP provider through IAX. I have read some articles from voip-info.org but still not clear to me(some of the commands). Would someone explain the third line of below config.

; Unconditional Call Forward
;
; create call forward
exten => _21X.,1,GotoIf($[${EXTEN:-1} = #]?2:3)
exten => _21X.,2,StripLSD(1)
exten => _21X.,3,DBput(CFIM/${CALLERIDNUM}=${EXTEN:4})
exten => _21X.,4,Hangup
;

I would highly appreciate if someone will provide a sample(working) configuration.

Thank you.

-Silver

The idea is to put a number, to where the user wants to redirect his phone, in AstDB database, that is a part of Asterisk. So this way the number to where the redirection is made is saved in permanent storage. You can retrieve this information when you are writing the Asterisk DialPlan that takes care of incoming calls to an extension.

Thank you for sharing your idea. I can now start to figure out this thing.

-Silver

Hi dejanst,

Thank you for your idea. I get your point in putting the number to the AstDB. In my case I am forwarding it to a provider on IAX Trunk, would that mean I will store the Channel Name(iax.conf) of that trunk to the asterisk Database? Is it possible to retrieve the Channel Name(in iax.conf) to be used in extension.conf? I am still trying to gather the right pieces of info right now.

Any suggestion/clarification is very highly appreciated. Thank you.

-Silver

Can someone explain the third line of the configuration? Thanks

You have to do everything in the Dialplan (extensions.conf).

• read about Asterisk applications for reading/writing in AstDB
  • have a thought on how you should use the information from AstDB in the Dialplan
  • try to write the Dialplan. If you get stuck, ask here for help