Please help

First of all, I want to say I am new to Asterisk. While searching for how VoIP works, I came across Asterisk and I started reading upon it. I found it to be a fascinating technology and wanted to use to go accomplish a long distance call between to central offices. Here is what I am trying to do but I do not know where to begin. Hope someone out there could point me to the right direction.

1. I would like two Asterisk servers that resides in two different location to communicate with each other; i.e. location XYZ would be USA and location ABC would be Italy
  2. Each Asterisk servers will be connected to a local PSTN.
  3. Users at XYZ will call user at ABC by dialing a local number, preferably 800 number so users can reach Asterisk server at XYZ from anywhere in the state. It doesn’t have to be 800 number. I just want the users to call the asterisk server from anywhere in the state; more of like a calling card with a pin number. The pin number will be used to identify users who have access to dial into Asterisk. Every user will be giving a pin number.
  4. I want the servers to handle multiple calls simultaneously, inbound and outbound calls.
    In short, the question is how many phone lines (PSTN) do I need to have in order to handle multiple calls simultaneously. Let say I want to handle 100 calls simultaneously, do I need to have 100 PSTN lines connected to Asterisk server?
    Thank you in advance for guiding me

Yes; much better don’t use pstn lines, use T1/E1 lines.

Cheers.

Marco Bruni

You can also use an ITSP. While PRI’s (E1/T1) are a bit more reliable VOIP tents to be a bit cheaper. You can also mix and match. You can use PRI’s for inbound and then VOIP for outbound and if the VOIP fails you can roll over to your PRI’s as backup.