Phone setup - what to assign to what?

Hi

I am new to Asterisk and need help putting the pieces together. I have a Yealink T28P phone and I’m able to connect it properly to Asterisk. My question is a more about the fundamentals of assigning lines and extension to the phone.

With a traditional PBX, I would have buttons on the phone to indicate the POTS lines and when I wanted to dial out, I would choose the line that is available. Conversely, if a call came in, I would see which line it was and answer the call.

For the purpose of my question, lets assume I have 2 POTS lines, 2 SIP lines and 5 office extensions. How would I go about configuring the phone. Do I need to move away from the old thinking and just assume that Asterisk will handle the call based on a dial plan and all I need to do is pick up the phone and dial?

The Yealink has a facility to assign 6 SIP accounts, but they in turn relate to an extension number in Asterisk. How does that fit together. Do I assign extensions to the users (1001 - 1005) and separate extensions for the SIP lines (2001 and 2002)

I would obviously need a FSO/FSX card for the POTS lines but how do they get linked to the phone? Is that all done for me by Asterisk?

I hope my question make sense - just want someone to give me a quick overview of how to set up a basic system - or point me to a good article/post.

All help is greatly appreciated
Thanks

Part of your problem is that your idea of a traditional PBX is not actually a traditional PBX and certainly not a PABX. Whilst it might actually be a PABX emulating one, what you actually describe is a key and lamp unit where every line is connected to every phone.

Asterisk is modeled more on the sort of PABX that would be used by an organisation with 50 to 1,000+ extensions.