• Analog, because its cheaper
  • Analog, all of the above
  • VoIP, because its cheaper
  • VoIP, because its more flexible
  • VoIP, because its more capable
  • VoIP, all of the above
  • Other, post below

0 voters

I’m setting up a phone system for a residence. This is my first time working with phone systems, so I need a little guidance.

Which is better? A dedicated phone system like the Panasonic KX-TA824 (http://tinyurl.com/27apta) or a VoIP type system, in this case made from ATAs (or FXS gateways). My requirements are:

[ul]
[li]Must use analog handsets (since this is residential)[/li]
[li]Must be able to interface to analog PSTN[/li]
[li]Needs to be able to support at least 16 extensions (I have over 30 wall connections, but all need not be connected at once)[/li]
[li]Must be fairly cost effective (<$600, $700 max)[/li]
[li]Must be fairly reliable (can’t be rebooting it every week)[/li]
[li]Analog failover for every line (e.g. every line gets connected to analog PSTN line) would be nice, but might be able to be flexible here
Multiple analog handsets per extension, but can be flexible if cost per extension is low enough.[/li]
[li]Easy expandibility would be a good plus[/li]
[li]Ability to call other extensions[/li][/ul]

Now, the Panasonic system doesn’t have all the features I need (for example analog failover is 1 PSTN line = 1 extension), but it is nice and integrated and does get me most of what I need. However, it isn’t that cheap (approx $37 / per extension for the base unit, $25 / extension for the add on cards)

But, a VoIP system built out of ATAs and a cheap server seems like it almost might be cheaper and more configurable, even though it is more complicated. For example, I have seen Linksys PAP2s for $30, so the cost per extension is $15 (yes, I know they probably will need to be unlocked).

On the other hand, the VoIP system doesn’t seem as reliable.