Pause Before Answer Cancels audio?

Hi, I have a strange thing happening, I am a novice so please bare with me.

Everything is working great on my setup, but one of the bosses is complaining that they “Want the caller to hear the phone ringing, because it gives a more personal feel”, where as it stands right now our Sip trunk answers prior to it ever ringing and starts playing our welcome message.

SO I thought this was an easy thing, but when I modify the inbound route to Signal Ringing and pause before answer to 6 seconds, it now RINGS for 6 seconds and I hear it, but then NO AUDIO can be heard by the caller. The call is routed correctly but the caller can’t hear a thing.

I am not sure if this is a codec issue as I was messing around with them earlier today, but I don’t think so since it works perfectly find when I remove those settings.

I am not sure what changes by enabling them, but anyone know where to start?

This doesn’t seem to be a question about Asterisk. It might be about an Asterisk GUI.

If it is really about Asterisk, you need to provide the dial plan code that is being executed.

Here is the Answer plan, it works, just no audio comes through. If I comment out ringing() and wait(6) no issue.

[ext-did-0002]
include => ext-did-0002-custom
exten => 16302063075,1,Set(__FROM_DID=${EXTEN})
exten => 16302063075,n,Gosub(app-blacklist-check,s,1())
exten => 16302063075,n,Set(CDR(did)=${FROM_DID})
exten => 16302063075,n,ExecIf($[ “${CALLERID(name)}” = “” ] ?Set(CALLERID(name)=${CALLERID(num)}))
exten => 16302063075,n,Ringing()
exten => 16302063075,n,Wait(6)
exten => 16302063075,n,Set(__CALLINGPRES_SV=${CALLERPRES()})
exten => 16302063075,n,Set(CALLERPRES()=allowed_not_screened)
exten => 16302063075,n(dest-ext),Goto(app-announcement-1,s,1)

Are you sure you ever answer? This feels like an “early media” handling problem.

Otherwise, you need at least the verbose logs and may need the a SIP protocol trace.