New User Several Questions

Hi All,

First of all a bit of background information on myself. I’m a software developer at a telecommunications company and I am looking to develop asterisk for use as a hosted solution.

This doesn’t paramilitary phase me as asterisk seems a fairly logical application to use, I do however have some questions.

Is it possible to have multi-tenanted use of asterisk on one installation, or would this require multiple instance of asterisk, perhaps vserver?

And what impact would this have in regards to using a mysql db for configuration, obviously this question may become obvious depending on the answer to the first question.

Hope i’ve explained myself well enough.

Regards

Hello,
it’s possible to have more than one asterisk in a single server, have done it more than once, you just need to use different configuration and working directory per asterisk server and use different listening ports for the services provided by asterisk.
Here is draft on how to to this, let’s say you have 2 asterisk server, “normal” asterisk server configured as usually and another server called pbx1, with only sip channels and the ami (so disable all other services on pbx1 or remember to change the listening ports):

1. create the directory /etc/asterisk/pbx1;

2. copy all the files in /etc/asterisk to /etc/asterisk/pbx1;

3. change the “directories” section of the /etc/asterisk/pbx1/asterisk.conf from
    astetcdir => /etc/asterisk
    astmoddir => /usr/lib/asterisk/modules
    astvarlibdir => /var/lib/asterisk
    astdatadir => /var/lib/asterisk
    astagidir => /var/lib/asterisk/agi-bin
    astspooldir => /var/spool/asterisk
    astrundir => /var/run
    astlogdir => /var/log/asterisk
    to
    astetcdir => /etc/asterisk/pbx1
    astmoddir => /usr/lib/asterisk/modules
    astvarlibdir => /var/lib/asterisk/pbx1
    astdatadir => /var/lib/asterisk/pbx1
    astagidir => /var/lib/asterisk/pbx1/agi-bin
    astspooldir => /var/spool/asterisk/pbx1