New Setup Pointers - Callcentric

I’m glad I found this forum. I’ve been doing tech support for a long time, but I’m pretty new to the world of SIP/VoIP. I just signed up for service with Callcentric and have had good results with just using my IP phones connected to their service directly.

What I’m trying to do now is setup a FreePBX distro and move all of the phone system functions in-house. I did have the whole thing working perfectly, but for some reason I’m not able to receive incoming calls on a consistent basis. Outgoing and internal calls have never been a problem. The distro I’m using is FreePBX 2.11, Linux 6.5, Asterisk 1.8 or 11. I’m running Asterisk 11.

I’ve done so much tinkering that it doesn’t really matter what setup I’ve got right now. I’d rather find a step by step guide that shows me how to do what I want to do the correct way. I have nothing against reading and educating myself, I just haven’t found a good source for the information I need.

A little more about the setup… I have 2 DIDs and each number serves a distinct purpose, so I like to keep them separate, inbound and out. What I did originally was to setup two separate trunks (although this seemed to perplex the CC tech support) so that I can have each send a different caller ID that I have specified in that trunk. If you dial 9 to get out, you go through trunk1 with the CID that corresponds to DID1 and the same if you dial 8, you go through trunk2 with a different caller ID. I don’t know if that’s the best way to achieve the two distinct outgoing lines feature, but it works. The incoming calls are routed to where I want them to go and when it works, it works fine. When it doesn’t work, callers hear a “caller is not available” message.