Linking Asterisk to a Legacy PBX

Hi,

I’m after information about the different ways (if there are more than one) to link an asterisk box to a Legacy PBX. At this stage I’m looking for general ideas, not specific to one make and model.

I’m an IT consultant working in a regional area of Australia. Most of the townships around here have ADSL so thats not a problem (We are also working on Wireless ADSL for those further out of town). Our own internal PBX system is about to be completely replaced by our Asterisk box equiped with a TDM400 card with 4 FXO ports, so we don’t need any intergration.

But we are aiming to become the VoIP experts in the area as no one else is. Some of our clients (large hotels etc) have expressed great interest in the cost savings that VoIP has to offer, for both internal use (distributed sites linked by wireless) and external calls (much cheaper rates with VSP’s than telcos over here).

However I’m sure most of our clients will want to keep there existing PBX system, but would like the flexibility and savings that a VoIP system could offer.

What I’m looking for is any docs, info, sites that can explain the basics of interconnecting an asterisk box to a legacy PBX for:

1. VoIP gateway to make cheap VoIP calls from existing PBX
  2. Adding extensions to remote locations utilising the wireless ethernet network.
  3. Any other reason we can think of.

If anyone can point me in the right direction and shed some initial light on this, it would be greatly appreciated!

Kind Regards,
Adrian

Here is some info for you

voip-info.org/wiki/view/Aste … ntegration

Hi Rusty,

Thanks for that. I actually found that link after posting, but its mostly information on the config settings, at this stage i’m interested in what cards and hardware are needed to link up to a legacy PBX. Obviously the first thing that comes into mind is a TDM card with FXS ports comes to mind, but that isn’t helpful if you have more than 4 lines.