How can I connect legacy telephones to my Asterisk box?

I’m a newbie but have Asterisk running on my Linux WRT54G router.

I’d like to connect my legacy telephones (eg. all the current telephones in my house) to my SIP server and I really don’t want to buy a dedicated SIP phone (I’d like to use my current phones). From what I’ve read I need a “Zaptel” interface card, but since I’m running Asterisk on my router I obviously can’t install any type of expansion cards…

Can I buy any “ATA” device and plug it into my current RJ-11 jacks to provide a dial-tone to the rest of my house?

From what I understand, that’s exactly how the sipX PBX works: If you want to have it support connections to the POTS, you have to plug in an FXO-SIP adapter to act as an interface between the POTS and the LAN.

sipx-wiki.calivia.com/index.php/ … 6_Gateways

Ok, so all I need is an “FXS” card? Would you recommend any for under $50? (for the best sound quality)

Also, can I plug in the phone cord from the FXS device into an RJ-11 jack to provide ALL analog jacks in my house with phone service?

Thanks!

Precisely, it’s not a card, it’s a stand-alone box with two plugs : one to connect it to the POTS line, and one to connect it to your LAN and speak SIP with the PBX (Asterisk, sipX, etc.)

Others here will chime in. If not, more info on hardware at voip-info.org/wiki/

There are two types of widgets: One that speaks FXO-SIP (to connect your VoIP LAN to the POTS), and ATA connectors that speak FXS-SIP (to connect analog phones to an SIP LAN).

If you want to reuse all existing analog phones, each will have to be plugged into its own ATA widget. Considering the cost of IP phones, it might make more sense to buy IP phones directly.