High Availability advice for asterisk realtime

Hey Everyone, reaching out to get some direction as its a little past my knowledge in asterisk now.

I really want to improve the high availability of our platform and have not been able to get the right advice.

Our current setup includes
2x asterisk front end servers
2x mysql database servers that do master-master replication.

asterisk 1 is connected to mysql 1
asterisk 2 is connected to mysql2

A vendor who recommended this setup says it is good and reliable, but im skeptical and think we should be able ot improve on this.

This provides some redundancy, but its certainly not high availability.

peer connections are done via dns-srv so connections are split across the front end servers.

Now my major issue is, if we have an issue with a database server (i.e. just recently had one fill up its disk unexpectedly) and asterisk cannot connect to the DB, it renders the extensions hitting that server failing to work. Cause asterisk is still running and the port is opening its trying to connect.

The causes issues and frustrations.

I am trying to work out how we can set things up to prevent an issue like this from happening. Is it possible to have the asterisk server have a primary and secondary MYSQL to connect to so if the first one fails to connect it can connect to the second?

Or any advice you have on how to make this more effective?

Thanks in advance

Wouldn’t that be the task of the database? I think MySQL has InnoDB clusters based on the Paxos consensus algorithm, but there are other choices. I am not using MySQL myself, but what I am using is basically dealing with a single DB from the perspective of Asterisk. Otherwise it would be a mess.

Well its mysql cluster of 2 servers, master-master replication.