Help with an Asterisk implementation

Hello,
I’m a new asterisk user and I’m studying to obtain the right implemantation for my business scenario.
Doing that I need your help to consider both:

• hardware implementation:

• Server hardware configuration
    • PCI/PCI-X Digium’s card to use
    • Gateway VOIP eventually to use
    • GSM box to handle 2 or more SIM card
  • some “unified comunication” capabilities

• Outlook integration
    • “presence status” software and IM integration

We have three bases with 2 or more ISDN in each of them and they are all connected with a VPN.
The VPN is implemented on a Dell server with proxy and filtering services (OpenVPN and Squid+Dansguardian in two Proxmox separate VMs)
The Dell server has an Intel E7500 (2.93GHz) CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 2xHD Sata Raid1, 4 Ethernet Port 10/100/1000.

My head quarter (the base with the most users and TE) has this situation:

3 ISDN BRI
1 Siemens PBX
25 digital and analogic phone
10 analog cordless dect
2 analog Fax machine on two PSTN lines

Cordless need to stay analogic.

Is the Dell Hardware enough to run a dedicated asterisk VM for the head quarter?
Which configuration you suggest to implement asterisk for my case?
Thank you in advance,

Marco

If you are going to use PCI cards, you have to run Asterisk on a dedicated server.

If you will connect all the legacy things to Asterisk via gateways, than you can run Asterisk as VM, but it is not recommended.

My proposition would be:

• use a dedicated server for Asterisk (current Dell server is more than enough)
  • use VoIP gatewas to connect legacy equipment to Asterisk
  • connect remote location phones to the central Asterisk server via VPN tunnel

Hi dejanst, thank you fot the suggestions.

[quote=“dejanst”]If you are going to use PCI cards, you have to run Asterisk on a dedicated server.

If you will connect all the legacy things to Asterisk via gateways, than you can run Asterisk as VM, but it is not recommended.
[/quote]