First time user

Hi everyone.
I’m actually really new to asterisk. Starting a small business, just want to ask for a few tips.

My situation is:
I want to have a small business phone system set up. I have already bought 4 phone lines from Verizon. And I only want to publish ONE phone number out to public (advertising), and when people call that number, all 4 phones in my office will ring. And while one of the employees is on the phone, if someone calls the same number, the other 3 phones will ring.
so 4 lines bought from verizon, split into 4 extensions.

I need

1. Server/computer that has asterisk installed
  2. 4 FXO port PCI card
  3. 4 FXS port PCI card

is there something else i can use besides the PCI card?
And is my set up right? Someone please help.

Oh and I’m gonna be using 4 ANALOG phones.

bump!
someone please help

Hi

If you have 4 lines with teh same number from verizon as you describe and yo want 4 analog extensions then you dont need anything else to do what you want.

I have to say you have gone about it an expensive way but hey…

Ian

i have 4 lines with 4 different numbers.

This isn’t PRI or VoIP DIDs right? Because it sounds like you have purchased 4 lines from Verizon with different numbers wanting to use them all with ONE phone number. This, doesn’t work…

Unless verizon decides to reprogram their switch for you to check for congestion/busy signaling and then direct to the next line, or you purchased 4 lines that were setup for this…

OR, and this is a big OR (that’s why they’re bolded…) if verizon were to offer “Call Forward on BUSY” you could, theoretically chain them together as some sort of Ghetto rigged PRI. Where upon sensing the main number is busy, it would forward to the next number, doing this with the primary number + 2 additional numbers would accomplish this. That would be oh so hilarious if it were to work, actually the idea alone is kinda making me cringe…

thanks for your reply!