Creating your own VOIP system

Hi everyone,
First of all, bare with me as i’m not native english speaker.

I am a apprentice junior software developer(18 weeks of experience) for a medium size company,
one of my assingment is to present how would my company go about creating thier own VOIP system. At the moment we are using Freshworks / Freshcaller. So exact task is to present a document with some details about how we gonna do it and what would be the cost, but this is where the problem starts. I’ve spent a whole day on researching VOIP and I am very confused:

this is what I understand so far:

1. Rent a server(Linux based, cheaper)
  2. Load Asterisk on a that server
  3. Subscribe to some VOIP Gateway provider(To support landlines)
  4. Connect Asterisk with Gateway.
  5. Desktop client? can we design our own?
  6. It works!

we currently use 5 numbers, and Freshcaller last month cost us £80 - 166 incoming calls - 513 outgoing.

Can someone please give me some guidance on what I’ve got wrong, and maybe some bullet points of what I need if I missed something.

Thanks

For that number of calls, I would consider a Raspberry Pi as your real hardwate. Asteriks needs Linux.

Although it is possible to use SP point to point, very few people do, so all youre external callswill need to go through a provider, not just those to old technology lines. I suspect your own system will only make sense if you make lots of internal calls (or transfer calls internally).

So you suggest to use RaspberryPi? we do some internal calls between tech support and sales aswell.

Could you please write how I wold go about doing this with RaspberryPi, I would really appriciate that.

Thanks.

http://www.raspberry-asterisk.org/

Please note I haven’t use Raspberry Pi with Asterisk, or in a commercial environment, so wait for other answers.

Thanks, for reply.

so you are saying that all my points are mostly correct, but maybe renting a server would be an overkill?