Connecting TE212P

Dear Friends,

It will sound real ignorant i know and i must agree that im an ignorant thus i need your help…!

We have brought DIGIUM TE212P card to build our very first AsteriskNow PBX we will use the business version but before that we want to try it with free edition being an IT guy i cant play with all other settings but i need to know how would i connect lines to Asterisk server.

We Have ISDN with 100 DIDs.
Currently we are using Nortel BCM 400, (we want to replact this with Asterisk).

I need your help:

Q1. There are 2 ports on Digium TE212P Digital Card please let me know whats the use of each port?

Q2. how would i connect ISDN line to Asterisk PBX using Digium TE212P 2ports card?

Q3. How would i connect a patch panel to Asterisk PBX for extensions in the office?

Q4. Which Brand of patch panel to use for local extenstions?

Im totally new at telephony please help me…i tried searching google over and over, again and again but cant find a proper explaining answer, finally im here and i hope somebody would help me here.

Thank you very much in advance for any explaination given to me and for your time going through it.

Thank you.

Wondering no one responded…on the forum???

1. Each port accepts a T1/E1/J1 circuit.
  2. Connect a T1 cross over cable from the smart jack(NIU) to the TE212P
  3. You could use a channel bank to connect to one of the ports on the TE212P. The patch panel would connect to the channel bank.
  4. Any brand should work…

[quote=“angler”]

1. Each port accepts a T1/E1/J1 circuit.
  2. Connect a T1 cross over cable from the smart jack(NIU) to the TE212P
  3. You could use a channel bank to connect to one of the ports on the TE212P. The patch panel would connect to the channel bank.
  4. Any brand should work…[/quote]

Thank you very much for the response sir, your answers leading me to more questions and forced to send pm to you please answer my pm if possible.

Thank you.