Complete noob struggling with setup

Hello all
sorry to just dive right in like this but i’m haveing a difficult time with getting asterisk setup. i have exhausted myself for a week with all the info i could find around the net. i did have a recent setup of trixbox that would make outbound calls but could not recieve calls “mainly just test driving distros” and it was pieceful around here without the phone ringing every couple minutes. i have a small buisness home office with the wife and outsourced phones before but now i would like to save a few bucks and host my own with an old server i have in the rack . i have some skills with linux and my networking skills are great everything is in place just need to make some calls. i have the system installed and i dropped the sip conf i was given from my provider Viatalk in the sip.conf it shows in asterisk log that it does connect with my provider but when i call from my cell i get a log entry (Failed to authenticate device "xxxxx xxxxx " sip:xxxxxxxxxxx@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx;tag=as3a16bfba) so it obviously see’s the call but doesnt like it. Now as for making calls from simple x-lite4 setup as my extension i get weird tone after dialing and the call fails. i will worry about that in a minute but as for now i need to except some calls i have attached my sip.conf incase it might help and thanks to everyone for the help.

[general]
context=default
bindport=5060
port=5060
bindaddr=0.0.0.0
recordhistory=yes
disallow=all
allow=ulaw
allow=gsm
trustrpid=yes
sendrpid=yes
dtmfmode=inband
relaxdtmf=yes
realm=asterisk
srvlookup=no
allowguest=no

; REGISTRATION
register => my number:secret@xxxxxxx-1a.vtnoc.net/my number

; TRUNK CONFIGURATION
[viatalk]
type=friend
authuser=my number
username=mynumber
fromuser=my number
fromdomain=xxxxxxxx-1a.vtnoc.net
host=xxxxxxxx-1a.vtnoc.net
secret=xxxxxxxxxx
insecure=very
qualify=3600
nat=no ; switch to yes if behind nat (try to avoid it if at all possible)

; PEER CONFIGURATION
[1000]
type=peer