Complete noob searching answers

Hello all.

From time to time I like to read up on new things, and now I’ve come across Asterisk. As VOIP subscriptions are becoming cheaper here in Norway I would like to setup a Asteriks server at home.

I would love to use a couple of my old analouge phones, and maybe a faxmachine later on, if I can get it going.

I do not have any old analouge or ISDN phonelines in my home, just a couple of SIP accounts with my VOIP provider, that I use with a FritzBOX combined router,modem, wireless and two analouge phone adapters today. (Works great)

I have been looking at Trixbox as it seems easy to setup, everything beeing on an ISO file to download.

What I can’t grasp is this:

1. Where do I connect my analouge phones?? To a SIP adapter like the Sipura adapters, or maybe the FritzBOX I already have.

2. Are there any PCI adapters I could plug into my server that will just give me possibility of plugging a couple of analouge phones to it?

3. Where do I put my VOIP providers SIP login information?? In the Asteriks server?

4. What login info do I put in the Sipura adapter?? The info I create for my Asteriks server??

Best regards
TommyE

1. your analogue phones can be connected to FXS ports in your server, via e.g. Digium TDM400 (with FXS modules), or a Sangoma A200 (again, with FXS module(s)), or via an ATA like the Sipura/Linksys. i prefer the Linksys-style option, as it gives you more flexibility with physical location if you already have network cables around, and it cheaper per-port to provision.

you might be able to use your Fritzbox if it can register with the Asterisk server as a user/peer.

1. see 1

2. if you’re using a FreePBX-based setup (like TrixBox) then there is a “Trunk” module that lets you create a SIP trunk to your provider, complete with dialling rules etc.